Something Old, Something New

Sometimes you need a change. I mean, staring at the same thing every time you’re delving into Tyria can become quite disheartening if you’re dissatisfied. Thankfully, with a few Transmutation Crystals and a bit of gold in your pocket (or badges of honour for that matter), you can freshen those eyes! There’s even a lot of options to mix-and-match from dungeon runs as well.

I spent a lot of time with a mixture of my Temple Armour and the WvW Armour. Frankly, they were the easiest to get. After a while, I began to think that I wasn’t as big of a fan of such heavy armour on Asmund. It didn’t fit his personality and how I envision him to be. I mean really, he’s a Norn. Would he really hide behind armour? Norn boost their body temperature pretty easily (see ‘Physiology’ under the linked Wiki), so I don’t see why one would need mass amounts of metal. Sure, it may hide your flesh, but I imagine Asmund would see it more as cowardice than anything. Plus, I’m sure an over-heated Norn smells like a herd of wet Dolyak. No thank you.

I must say, Asmund was quite proud of his transformation!

Asmund1

Out with the old…

Asmund2

…and in with the new!

I’ve always been one for aesthetics in games. I’ve honestly found that LOTRO was the best for its wardrobe system (although SWTOR was pretty interesting in how they tried to handle it, but I don’t think it worked well). In spite of other games I’ve played, I still enjoy GW2’s system since it’s a way I can continue to financially supporting their efforts. It would be nice to see a wardrobe system one day to be purchased through the gem store, but I doubt it will ever happen. Unless you’re really lucky you already have to spend gems on the crystals, and I don’t see them changing it any time in the near future.

If you’re curious about what gear I’m running right now, it’s this:

Pit Fighter’s Shoulder Guard (sold by the WvW Armour Master)
Dolyak Mail (Norn Tier 1 Cultural Armour)
Duelist’s Gauntlets (sold by the WvW Armour Master)
Dolyak Chausses (Norn Tier 1 Cultural Armour)
Pit Fighter’s Sandals (even though you can’t see them in the photo, they’re sold by the WvW Armour Master)

For the record, I rarely ever show a helmet since I put so much effort into designing Asmund (and spending 350 gems on a Total Makeover Kit). In my opinion, you can’t put a price on the looks of a character you love investing in.

At the end of the day, mixing and matching gear to make an outfit I’ll adore, while using dye that I’ve collected to make a unique Norn that Tyria has never seen before? Yeah, I’m sold.

What about you? What’s the best outfit you’ve ever put together for your hero? Link a screenshot! I’d love to see what you’ve come up with!

11 thoughts on “Something Old, Something New

  1. I’m really boring I think, I have the basic end game set of heavy armor for the Vigil on my Asuran guardian, haha though when I received the weapon after completing the final storyline mission I managed to base my dye color scheme around it so everything is completely coordinated!

    • I usually love coordinated colour schemes, actually! Especially when they match weapons. Lately I’ve been wanting to aim for more realistic-looking gear, which is inspired by an amazingly good-looking set of Norn I encountered outside of Lion’s Arch in Lornar’s Pass! http://wp.me/a3gF3a-24

      Frankly, I think Bruuz is a pretty good-looking Asura, for sure!

  2. Man, I totally agree about the helmet topic. I spent hours in optimizing my characters so they look somewhat pleasing and never displayed a helmet, which is hiding the head. Only exceptions were scar tattoos (?) for necros and these patterns monks used to wear in GW1, since they complement the design instead of hiding it.

    I like the new look of your norn and find it quite difficult to find a matching compilation of armor pieces myself, since you already have that precise image of the personality of your character in your head. I consider myself rather a PvP player and used to run around in Pink-white-retardish dye combos as well, but somehow this, as well as every gear gets boring at some point. Finding some new interesting combos were even a reason to reroll as class for me, since they make the game itself far more interesting for me.

    By the way, this is my solution on character head optimization https://twitter.com/vasburgyo/status/437837857256787968/photo/1

    • That’s amazing! I quite love your uhhh… replicas.

      It’s true on the head part. I mean, I’ve seen some amazing helmets in games, but I still prefer the faces that I make, especially with the makeover kit in GW2. It makes my characters feel special. It also makes it easier that I have a wife who games with me and we even roll characters to roleplay together!

  3. I really love the wardrobe feature in Lotro. It’s the best for both sides, if you ask me. We can have soooo many different outfits with the cosmetic outfit slots and the wardrobe and Turbine can earn money by selling outfit and wardrobe slots as well as outfits. ❤

    • It really is a genius way to do it. It may always be my favourite system. I dream of a game where we take the best of LOTRO and GW2 and smoosh them into one. It’ll never happen, but a gamer can dream, can’t he?

  4. I wish PvE used a system like PvP, where you have a separate bank/wardrobe to store cosmetic items. Or something like the Zenith skins from achievements, where you can withdraw them at will.

    I spend WAY too much gold on tinkering with my outfit.

  5. I am a sucker for changing looks on my characters! And when I create a new one (which happens often), I usually have a look in mind. I have most of them at http://vysicle.wordpress.com/2014/02/11/avatar-creation/ but I have managed to make even more characters after that post. I’m an altoholic.
    Anyway, the one that tends to give me more trouble is my guardian (Aster Nex) since I try to mix and match too and dye look different depending on the material (grrr.)

    • Dye is almost maddening. There’s so many options, and so little gold for me to purchase it all. Then I don’t even use half of it.

      Sometimes I think we need an “Altoholics Anonymous” group. I used to get bugged all the time in games when everyone would be maxed out with amazing gear, and I’m running around with yet one more Lv. 10. What can I say? I love Character Creation too much. I thought my wife was worse, but she hit 80 in about 40 days (a huge achievement for a mother of two kids!). I guess I’m the bad one now. 😉

  6. Pingback: Confession: They Called Me Crazy | The Traveller of Tyria

Leave a Reply

