What’s in a Guild? (Finding the Right One)

I’ve spent a lot of time in a lot of games, trying to find the right guild for me. It wasn’t until LOTRO that I managed to find a Kinship (the name for LOTRO guilds) that I finally encountered a group of people that became great online friends! I still remember meeting the Supergirl of Lothlorien, Danania who became a great friend for a very long time! There are memories of people who I got excited to talk to, and often looked forward to logging on to chat with them. The thing is, when I hit Guild Wars 2, I just couldn’t find people like that ever again. Forever, I found myself longing for a guild of friends and family that matched who I was, and what I was looking for–something about the Riders of Rohan clicked with me, and I hadn’t found it since.

It wasn’t until recently that I found the Angels of Eternal Destiny [ANGL] and really clicked with a lot of them. The problem that held me back for the longest time, was this: I didn’t know what I was looking for.

So what changed?

Well, I decided to lay out exactly what I was looking for in a guild. Here’s some questions that may help you, as they helped me:

  1. What gameplay do you prefer?
    • This is the first question you need to ask. Why would you join a guild focused on WvW if you hate it? Why would you join a guild focused around dungeon runs if you hate dungeons?
    • Take a look at what you currently do. Then take a look at what you’re willing to do. Then write out what you don’t want to do. This will help you find that “sweet spot” of gaming that you desire!
  2. How social do you want to be?
    • Some guilds may come with an expectation to have 100% representation. Is this valuable to you?
    • Some guilds may require showing up to lots of events, or even being verbally active in conversation. What’re your limits?
  3. What’s your preferred form of communication?
    • There’s no point being in a guild where they all want to chat through text, if you could care less about typing. The opposite applies as well, where there’s no point being in a guild where they want to use Ventrilo, Mumble, or TeamSpeak, when you just want to type.
  4. Why do you play Guild Wars 2 (or your given MMO)?
    • It probably seems like a funny question, but this is the most important question for me to know. It links back to #2 and #3.
      • If you’re playing to get away from the social pressures of life and/or your job, you probably won’t want to be engaged too often in communication.
      • If you play to have all the achievements, this should be a requirement for you.
      • If you play casually, or you play hardcore, then this is going to be thrown into the mix of the decision-making process.
  5. Finally, are you willing to do a “trial run” of a guild?
    • The reality is, you’re not going to like every guild and every person. I don’t like every person in this world, and that’s ok (although I still choose to treat them with dignity and respect).
    • Asking to do a trial run for a week or two, even when the recruiter hasn’t mentioned it, is often really healthy. It gives you time to schmooze, see if there’s a click, and not feel hard-pressed about moving on.
      • If you’re anything like me, you hate letting people down, so leaving a guild (even one you don’t like too much) can leave you a little guilt-ridden. Take a week or two to see if there’s a click. If there is, you may have found a home!

These 5 questions help me develop good relationships, improve my experience in Tyria, and have really paid off with a great guild that I’m in who I’ve been building awesome relationships with.

What about you? What are some of the things that have helped you find a healthy home in Tyria?

Guild Challenge

Celebrating after doing a Guild Challenge of a Branded Ogre and two Branded Devourers! Go [ANGL]!!

9 thoughts on “What’s in a Guild? (Finding the Right One)

  1. I have been very lucky to land in guilds with nice, fun people on my first try! When I played Forsaken World, I saw a recruitment add in World Chat for a guild named Aes Sedai. Since I recognized that name from one of my favorite book series, I decided to give it a try. it also helped that it was a new guild with few people. (It became one of the biggest eventually) I liked the wacky conversation that can sprout in guild chat, while still treating each other with respect. I didn’t feel intimidated by the members either since they were very friendly and mentored me in my newbie days.
    So I pretty much like guilds with a sense of humor, that are willing to help each other out. and just have fun. When you have fun, you are even willing to do stuff to help the guild instead of feeling obligated to fulfill a list of requirements if you want to stay. (And many guilds in FW had a LOT)

    I found that place in Chronicles of Tyria (One of the many [CoT] you can see around) and I’ve also met a lot of cool peeps from Our Sanctuary [LGBT].

    • Aes Sedai, huh? That’s the Wheel of Time, right? I haven’t read it, but I know quite a bit about it. 🙂

      That’s really cool that you’ve connected well! What server are you on, again? An EU one, right?

      • Yep! Wheel of Time. In fact, whenever I made a priest or mage in Forsaken World, I had to add the sedai title at the end of their name.
        I’m on Tarnished Coast

  2. Interesting how much this can relate to choosing a community, social group or interest group in all aspects of life. I think if more people took these kinds of choices seriously there’s be much less friction between members of said groups.

    If every guild member I’d ever played with took these questions into account, the amount of drama llama’s in my gaming history zoo would be nearly extinct 😉

  3. I am not a very active member in guilds even though I belong to 4. The one I represent the most is a very small guild of personal real life friends. I joined the 3 other guilds because they do events that I enjoy participating in and I can gain them influence while doing those events.

      • I am just wondering if the upcoming megaserver system in Guild Wars 2 will make guilds less useful for many. I think a lot of people join guilds just to have players help them with content in under-populated zones.

      • My prediction is that it’ll actually help better facilitate play among guild members, by attempting to keep guildies in the same “copy” of a given zone.

        It’s possible that many join guilds to get help with content, but the majority of content in this game is solo-able. If anything, it’s the natural group content that they’ll still need help with.

        Of course, on another side of things, I think we’re going to find a lot more connections between people who they’ve never met before.

        Megaservers may actually make it easier for people to find the “right guild for them.”

Leave a Reply

