Beautiful You, and You, and You

So one of my favourite things about Guild Wars 2 is the aesthetic part. When people put a little bit of effort into how they look, I rarely find two people that look the same. Sure, you’ll find similarities if people use lots of temple armour, or if people are using ascended gear (and why not, since you took all that time to make it), but most of the time I find that each character is very unique. Throw in a Total Makeover Kit (or even a Self-Style Hair Kit) and you end up being one-of-a-kind. I mean, of course if you’re an Asura I can’t help you, as you all look the same. (KA-BRAHAM!)

I want to take you along a quick little journey of some beautiful photos I’ve captured of some beautiful people I’ve seen in-game. The first is a little afk friend from the Edge of the Mists. It was a beautiful day (I mean, it’s ALWAYS daytime in EotM, but whatever) and we saw this cutesie little Asura girl from Badlands (we were Frostreach at the time). We could have killed her and were ready for it, but she just stood there and was obviously afk. Frankly, I see no honour in killing someone who’s afk, so we sat down by her and decided to make friends. All was peaceful and wonderful until a zerg of Overgrowth came and slaughtered the three of us. Our beautiful friendship came to an end, but we would always remember our little cutie pie alien-looking girl-thing. (Although I was pretty sure I saw Esfir, on the left, licking her lips…)

EotM Friend

So next up on the list is me showing off my wonderful Markk Shadowclaw in PvP. I was in the Battle of Kyhlo and figured I’d take a brief break (actually, I was scouting too many thieves out thieves out there that were stealth-based in their build) and see who was where, doing what. I’m pretty pleased at how I did his look. He’s a terrifying killer but don’t worry–deep down he has a heart of at least bronze…maybe silver…Markk PvP Clocktower

Then we have our little magical lady of death. I saw her in the Heart of the Mists and felt pretty convinced that I didn’t want to meet her in a dark alley. I’m not sure what exactly it was, but she was absolutely stunning!
Creepy Asura

Now this one is a personal picture of my wife (Briony, on the left), myself (the watchwork knight), a guildie named Scarlet, and my Mini Armoured Scarlet! We were doing guild missions and had three guilds joining us in it for the puzzle in Snowden Drifts! I figured that we should show off “our stuff.”Scarlet Frenzy

Now here is one that I saw last night. I have to admit, I rather detest the Zodiac Armour, but this Sylvari pulled together an amazing look that made him both magical and majestic! Throw in that Light of Dwayna and he looks a little righteous and angelic! I was impressed.Sylvari Zodiac

Now this guy blew me away with his colours. I can’t remember them exactly, but it was a set of Enameled Dye mixed with some Shiver Dyes. I couldn’t help but stop and take a picture of how amazing he looked. In my mind, this is the type of character that reminds me of Golbez from Final Fantasy IV, for some reason. Or I could just be crazy.Beautiful Armour

Finally, there’s my return to my old outfit. After running that Ascended Gear mixed with Banded and a Berserker’s Helmet, I’ve returned to my Phalanx (hey, I paid real cash for it, and I remember staring for months at the armour). I even put on my Tybalt Backpack after running my Tempered Spinal Blades for a while there.Asmund AC PoseUltimately, the best part of Guild Wars 2 is the aesthetics. You can grow and change your character, and really make them more unique than any game that I’ve played up to this point. Perhaps it’s a big draw to me, as if there’s anything in a game that pulls me in, it’s my love for improving and changing how my character looks. It’s refreshing, renewing, and exciting for me!

Feel free to post links to your favourite outfits you’ve seen people put together in the comments below!

 

5 thoughts on “Beautiful You, and You, and You

  1. Loved it! As usual, though more Asuran love plz 😛 Where are the badass pictures of heavily armored shorties wielding weapons too big for them going up against all odds, and always at a disadvantage… to their credit 😀

  2. Pingback: This week in Guild Wars 2, 21-27 June | GuildMag

  3. From first day in GW2 i started to screenshot the game.. but my biggest pleasure was when i found characters that look awasome or crazy… in the end i got like 3k shots.. i choose some pictures and started a blog.. but now im realy focused in finding good looks acros Tyria 😀

Leave a Reply

