Change My Brain

My apologies for the lack of updates lately. I’ve been travelling a lot and had limited access to the internet. In hindsight, I should have scheduled some posts for you lovely people to indulge in!

Long time no see, fellow Travellers! Has Dry Top drawn you into where we’re going? Today they’ve dropped the next segment of Living Story: Season 2 and I know we’re all itching to see what Mordremoth has in store for us, but there’s definitely a few adjustments I’m having to make.

You see, in other games, I buy an expansion and I end up indulging for hours upon hours into new content left, right, and center. Whether the Living Story is supposed to be expansion-filled content or not, this season has been said to contain a whole lot of permanent content, and we’ve experienced that already with the new Story Journal. In a sense, it reminds me of doing Missions in Guild Wars 1 which honestly, I sort of miss. This renews a bit of nostalgia for me and, although I haven’t had much time to do the replay for Season 1 to get the achievements (ok, so I’ve been travelling in RL, as well as working towards Celestial Ascended Armour in-game), I’m excited to do it. Still, as I said, there are adjustments that I’m having to make in terms of my mindset:

1. Achievements Aren’t Totally Rewarding

  • Maybe it’s because I’m not a guy who cares how many achievement points I have, but I find that the rewards aren’t as compelling so far as Season 1 was. Of course, I only have one episode, and the second episode just dropped today. Sure, there are random items through the chests crafting, and other means, but I actually enjoyed meta achievements. |At least, so long as they felt pretty balanced (and didn’t require incessant grinding). Who’s to say that we won’t have the season segmented into groups of episodes, with a meta achievement for getting all the achievements in that section? That would definitely be an interesting approach. Since it’s permanent, you would have all the time in the world.

2. Length of Playtime for Releases

  • I don’t think it’s fair for me to expect content that will take up all of my GW2 time when it’s based on releasing every two weeks. There’s a lot of hard work that goes into it, and I’m excited to take my time and enjoy it as best I can. There’s progressively more permanent content that we can revisit, and we’re slowly watching bits and pieces of the world change already (no spoilers, but try checking Fort Salma in Kessex Hills). While last season it took a long time for things to change, it’s happening quickly this season.
  • Given that things are actually progressing and physically changing in Tyria, I need to remind myself that there is lots of content available, and I have no right to complain that there’s nothing to do if I haven’t tried to enjoy it myself in the first place–a pill I need to be sure to swallow from time to time.

3. Keep My Expectations Lower

  • It’s not because I shouldn’t expect great things from what ArenaNet’s doing, but I think we hype ourselves up in our heads over what we think the game ought to be (and often times, I think it’s unrealistic compared to what any human being is capable of doing). I find this attitude will keep me more pleasant and excited for what’s to come.

4. Don’t Let My Critical Nature Overtake Me

  • So this is one of my “I’m getting pretty serious” blogs, but I think this is important. I know a few people both in-game and in real life that can only focus on the negative things. Instead, offering constructive criticism can be very useful (and has been stated multiple times that it’s exactly what ArenaNet are looking for on the forums). It’s more than ok to express what you like or don’t like about the game, but when that’s the only thing you talk about (or you aren’t able to offer a way it should be improved), then it’s just a complaint. This isn’t useful for anyone, and this is a trap I can find myself in very easily as I’m often a cynical person by nature.

5. It Takes Time to Turn a Boat

  • ArenaNet, I feel like I should say “I’m sorry” about my impatience sometimes. I don’t really post negativity on forums or anything, and I avoid being negative with people (because it comes too naturally for me), but I’ve found myself irritated that things aren’t improved “immediately.” Yet ArenaNet still needs time to look at metrics, feedback from their content, as well as to sift through what works for them and doesn’t, and find a middle-ground with where they should go. They can’t put out one patch and say: “Ok, these three things should have been done different” and change the next release’s content in less than two weeks.
  • The great thing about this, is that I believe with the knowledge that ArenaNet has from LS1, LS2 is going to be amazing. I can’t wait to play it tonight!

Is there anything you find yourself having to work through when it comes to being patient with MMO developers? Anything you’ve learned that you could add? Please post your comments below!

On a completely unrelated note, here’s my Aussie buddy Mahdloc who, apparently, needs to know that he’s loved:

Mahd has great taste in armour!

Mahd has great taste in armour!

One thought on “Change My Brain

  1. Pingback: This week in Guild Wars 2, 12-18 July | GuildMag

Leave a Reply

