Bonus Blog: Liebster Award Nomination!

Some of you may have heard of the Liebster Award. This is brand new to me (I haven’t been around the blogging world very long), and I think it’s a rather sweet concept. Sure, some may call it a “chain letter,” but I consider it more of an opportunity to make some people feel loved, as well as let you get to know me a bit better. Google the Liebster Award if you’d like, but I hope you enjoy the opportunity that I’m seizing here.

I was nominated by Urebril from the Ranzington Scouts. I’ve known him for just under a year now, and he’s been one of the greatest sources of encouragement online. So thank you for the nomination, my friend! He’s provided a list of 11 questions, and I hope you enjoy my answers to them. 😉

  1. If you had to start the last article you wrote over, what would you do differently?
    Interesting question… I think as my first blog back in a very long time, I probably would’ve put more energy into something that felt like fireworks were going off, and there would be trumpets sounding, heralding my return. Oh, and my friends over at Dragon Season would also be feeding me grapes and the like.

    No, seriously, I don’t think I’d change anything. To come back to blogging after a very challenging few months of my life, it’s exciting to return to the community. I stayed active on Twitter, and my followers have been the most loving, supportive people ever–this includes even many employees of ArenaNet. Thank you all for your love–it’s gotten me through.

  2. What is your favorite MMO? Why?
    Once upon a time I wouldn’t have been able to answer that. I’ve tried everything from LOTRO to WoW, and from Rift to SWTOR. Yet I’ve found an amazing home in Guild Wars 2. Why? 3 Reasons:

    a) The Community – To see so many people who are so supportive of one another, I believe Guild Wars 2 is more than a game. After some recent in-game conflict that had taken place between many friends, I was distraught. Finally, I realized that this is not “just a game” as some may say. No, this is a game with real people. The game seems much less progression-driven than most, which has fostered a beautiful community environment.

    b) Fashion Wars 2 – I love aesthetics. I have an entire category on my blog called “aesthetics” that I haven’t done enough with. I love Transmutation Charges. More than anything, I LOVE DYE!!!!! Oh my goodness. If I could have all the enameled dye, as well as some of the more expensive ones with high saturation like Blacklight? Oh, I would be in Tyrian heaven.

    c) Pick up and Play – Although I spend way too much time doing too little, usually it’s because my options are so wide. I log on, I can do anything with a few mouse-clicks. Dungeon? Done. Silverwastes? Done. PvP? Done. WvW? Done. I get sucked in and can join anything easily. Favourite game ever!

  3. Do you feel the need to role-play your character when playing MMORPGs? Explain.
    I recently had been asked about the origins of the names of all my characters, and the roleplaying element to it all. Honestly, I deleted my first Thief who was an 80 with full exotics. Why? I didn’t feel a ‘connection’ with him. When I create characters, it’s like writing a story: each has personality, conflict, history, preferences, and their own thoughts. Some of my characters get along, while others don’t. Tie that in with being married to a woman who loves stories and roleplaying, and you’ve got many nights of fun. We actually spend time with the two of us, writing stories of the adventures and conflicts of our characters.
  4. What so you consider to be the biggest challenge when writing?
    Accurately conveying my heart. I can convey concepts, but how do you convey a genuine sensation or feeling? How do you convey the impression you get on something–not just from your head, but your heart? This has been the greatest challenge for me to try to get out there, and many seem to connect.
  5. What do you use as your source of inspiration when you write?
    I honestly don’t know how to answer this. It’s like asking what my inspirations are for my music as well (I recently released a single on iTunes). I can’t really tell you. They come from the depths of my heart, influenced from all sorts of fantasy, other bloggers who have nothing to do with gaming, and many books that I read for personal development.
  6. If you could be any character in a story, who would you be and why?
    That’s an insanely difficult character. The first one that comes to mind is Ganoes Paran from the Malazan Book of the Fallen by Steven Erikson. This is my favourite series so far (ok, so I’m only just finishing Deadhouse Gates [book 2]) and I found in Gardens of the Moon, he was real, somewhat feeble, and compelling. Yet the series is all about the evolution of the characters, and that really draws me in. I guess in a lot of ways, I can relate to him in his struggles with identity, self-worth, and purpose.

  7. What is your favorite book of all time?
    Strange question for me to answer. Favourite epic fantasy so far is Gardens of the Moon by the aforementioned Steven Erikson. Favourite for personal guidance and life, the Bible. Favourite for self-development and being challenged to bring life, love, and value to the world would be the Irresistible Revolution by Shane Claiborne.
  8. Name one goal you hope to achieve this year.
    In terms of blogging, my goal is for consistency of releasing my blogs each week. For personal, that goes down to development in my business selling gourmet coffee. So I guess that’s two goals?
  9. What do others say is your best quality? Do you agree?
    Most people say my best quality is my ability to listen/love (as the two are inseparable). I’d say I agree, only because it’s a huge value of mine and something I try really hard to emphasize in my life.
  10. What inspired your online name?
    The Traveller of Tyria actually comes from a title I have in Guild Wars 2–“Traveller.” I was trying to figure out the purpose and heart of the blog. Originally, I figured it would simply be a place for roleplaying-esque jabbering with lots of scenic pictures of what one can find all throughout Tyria. It quickly developed into much more, becoming much more philosophical in nature. It may have been my wife who asked me what I wanted to do involving the blog, and I said: “Travel Tyria.” Thus, the Traveller of Tyria was born!
  11. Do you feel your writing inspires your readers?
    I sometimes find it hard to understand why I would inspire my readers, as I think I babble too much about philosophical concepts in gaming and community, but I know that my friend Urebril frequently encourages me that I’m one of the influences of his writing. So the evidence of at least one is that I do inspire. Do I fully embrace it and believe it? I suppose I don’t want to become arrogant, so I shelf it and say “thank you” for the kind words.

With that being said, I’d love to nominate someone who inspires me greatly. It’s up to you if you want to answer these following questions, but sometimes it’s nice for your readers to hear a little bit more about who you are. The others who I would have nominated have already been stolen away because they’re that amazing.

I nominate…
Aster – My #1 contributor to my blog in 2014, and an all-around great guy. Every encounter I’ve had with him has been positive. He’s encouraging, exciting, and his blog is *always* worth reading! I challenge you to answer the same questions I was asked (copy & paste, baby) to let your readers hear a bit more about who you are, and how awesome you are!

A few others to specially note that you should check out are Dragon Season, Chronicles of Tyria, Varr (who writes for Chronicles of Tyria but I believe deserves special mention), and Wyrmhole Gaming. There are many more, but there you go!

I hope this has given you an insight, so I leave you with a question…
What is one thing you’d like to know about me?

One thought on “Bonus Blog: Liebster Award Nomination!

  1. Pingback: Liebster award thingy! | One life is not enough

Leave a Reply

